programming

The frustration experience of using integration testing for Grails application

After digging test capabilities of Grails I was found that it’s in really crude stage. Frankly said I expected little bit more…I think if you don’t have normal tool for testing application then you can’t use it for seriously tasks.
After some complains I try to explain what annoying things I was bumped into.

It was strange that my favorite IDE (Intelij Idea) doesn’t have normal functionalities for running integration test for Grails application. I understand that it’s not problems of Grails application It’s just probably the guys from Idea doesn’t see any reason for implementing one. But it’s more disadvantage for Grails then for IDEA.
After googling this problem I have found some workaround. The guys from Grails advise to run like

mvn grails:exec -Dcommand=test-app -Dargs="-integration"

Hence, it should be created mvn run configuration in IDEA with goal

grails:exec -Dcommand=test-app -Dargs="-integration"

but unfortunatelly it doesn’t perfect work for me as it runs unit and integration test. 😦 Let’s go further. the time for running two really simple test takes about 31 seconds. Come on…it’s awful the integration testing unbelievable slow. 😦 Moreover, I can run only one test from test case it’s awful..

As a result that I can say about integration testing. it’s developed like possibility that will use on (pre-)production environment for tracking application before deploying. But it’s really bad for test-driven development.

Leave a comment